Teaching Tuesdays

Mother’s Day Ideas {Teach}


This Mother’s Day, I have been working with my students to make cards and bird houses while my director has come in to do her favorite Mother’s Day gift activity of making sashays (little pillows filled with lavender). My card idea is pictured above (I didn’t want to use one of my students’ photos so I made my own!) and on the inside, it reads, “I love you to the moon and back! Happy Mother’s Day.” To do this project, I mixed black and turquoise paint for the night sky, yellow and white paint for the moon, clear glitter paint for the “stars,” and Popsicle sticks for the ladder. The kids finger painted the sky and moon, and helped me glitter paint it, and practiced writing “Love, {their name}” – they signed their own cards! Proud teacher moment. (: 

After that, I used hot glue to put it all together, including pictures I took of them climbing on the play structure so it would actually look like they were climbing the ladder to the moon. It’s been such a fun project and they turned out so cute! 

  

We also made birdhouses! I picked up a bunch of tiny birdhouses in the $1 section at Michael’s, then let them use liquid water colors to create a tye-dye effect on the birdhouses. 

Overall, I’m really happy with the way these turned out and I hope the moms in our school enjoy their Mother’s Day gifts! 

Happy early Mother’s Day!

xoxo

One thought on “Mother’s Day Ideas {Teach}

Leave a Reply

